Requirements for CPSS®

Process safety addresses the reduction in the risk from catastrophic accidents posed by facilities that handle hazardous materials. Companies must protect employees, the public and the environment, as well as prevent damage to their facilities, process equipment, and company reputations. There are many aspects of process safety that must be addressed. It essential that the people responsible be competent to ensure risks are managed properly.

This certification is intended for a process safety professional who routinely takes responsibility for multiple aspects of process safety.  A Specialist has a minimum of five years of relevant experience and performs work in process safety regularly. This professional has in-depth knowledge and abilities in process safety such as overseeing a company’s management of change (MOC) program.

Primacert expects that a Certified Process Safety Specialist using the designation CPSS® can demonstrate competency by meeting the following requirements:


Academic Qualifications

  • A degree from an accredited university or college in a relevant technical discipline. At a minimum, degree includes three years relevant, full-time tertiary education.


  • A minimum of five years of recent and relevant work experience.


  • In addition to the training required for the practitioner level, successful completion within the last three years of training courses that enhance technical understanding of specific aspects of process safety programs in at least two of the following topics:
    • Management of Change
    • Mechanical Integrity
    • Process Hazard Analysis
    • Process Safety Auditing


  • Two references from supervisor / manager / peer who can attest to academic qualifications, work experience and professional ethics.



Apply Now